Two LeFeaver Talents Short Listed For The Gina Wilkinson Prize!

Charlotte Gowdy (Left) Christine Brubaker (Right)

Congratulations to CHRISTINE BRUBAKER and CHARLOTTE GOWDY for their Gina Wilkinson Prize  nominations! Full details in the excerpt below:

Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON (March 3, 2014) — The committee for the 2014 Gina Wilkinson Prize  is pleased to announce the short list of nominees for the third annual prize: Christine BrubakerCharlotte GowdyElizabeth Saunders, and Dayna Tekatch.

Christine Brubaker has been working as a theatre artist for twenty years. Primarily an actor, she has performed nationally and internationally working in small theatre and large. She began directing three years ago when friend and colleague, Eric Woolfe from Eldritch Theatre, hired her to direct his puppet spectacle Madhouse Variations. Originally from Guelph, Ontario, Christine studied Theatre and Arts Administration at the University of Waterloo, and went on to train as an actor at the National Theatre School of Canada. Currently, she is pursuing her MFA in Interdisciplinary Arts from Goddard College in Vermont. This spring, she is part of the Michael Langham Workshop for Classical Direction at the Stratford Festival. Christine is a teacher,musician and a regular theatre instructor at Young People’s Theatre and Sheridan College.

Charlotte Gowdy is a graduate of both the National Theatre School of Canada and Ecole Philippe Gaulier in Paris, France. Charlotte has been acting, directing and teaching professionally for over a decade. In 2009, she was awarded a grant from Theatre Ontario to train in directing and she has been working steadily as a director ever since. Charlotte is a regular guest teacher in the theatre departments of Queen’s University, Fanshawe College and the University of PEI. In 2013, she was appointed to the position of Associate Artistic Director at the Thousand Islands Playhouse.

The Gina Wilkinson Prize is an annual award that has been established in the name of Gina Wilkinson who passed away in late 2010 due to an aggressive cancer. Gina spent the first 20 years of her career as an actor, but in the latter years of her too-short life emerged as one of Canada’s brightest directors. The Gina Wilkinson Prize was established through the generous support of Gina’s colleagues and admirers from across the country. The annual prize of $2,000 honours a female theatre artist who is making the transition to directing  from another theatre discipline.

The 2014 winner of the Gina Wilkinson Prize will be announced on Gina’s birthday, March 10.

Christine Brubaker is represented by Nancy LeFeaver, Charlotte Gowdy is represented by Colleen Loucks.